The arrival at Szépalmapuszta is like stepping into a romantic costume movie. Grazing horses and cows in the valley, winding roads around corrals with Kőris-hegy in the background form a truly picturesque landscape. An example for the use of land worth following.
The area was a royal property until 1483, when King Matthias donated it to István Szapolyai. In the early-16th century it passed into the hands of the Töröks from Enying who established an apple tree garden (szépalma = nice apple) there. From 1622 Szépalmapuszta was owned by the Esterházys for 300 years. In the mid-18th century a stud farm was established by Imre Eszterházy.
In 1862 Szépalma was a venue for an important event as Hungarian aristocrats Móric Eszterházy, György Apponyi, György Majláth and Ferenc Deák had a meeting here to discuss the post-war future of Hungary and Austria and chances of an agreement following the war of independence in 1848-49.
Past WWI ownership passed to the Pejacsevich family by marriage. Endre Mikó Pejacsevich founded a pinetum in 1919 and further developed it until 1940. He was the last aristocrat owner of Szépalma and was buried in the graveyard close to the hotel.
As part of the nationalization process after WW2 the stud farm was passed to the State Farm of Bábolna. Following the political changes and privatizations it has been a Swiss private property since 1994 when renovation of the decaying buildings began. In two years Hotel Szépalma opened surrounded by refurbished farm buildings. Recently the estate was extended with a kids’ farm.